Republican Party


The Republican Party, commonly known as the GOP (“Grand Old Party”), is one the major political parties of the United States, the Democratic Party being the other. The Republican party was founded in 1854 by anit-slavery activists and for the most part nationally dominated politics from 1860 through 1932. Of the US presidents, 18 have been Republican, the first of which was Abraham Lincoln, who served from 1861 to 1865, and the last at the time of this article was George W. Bush, who served 2001 to 2009 before Barack H. Obama, who defeated Republican Mitt Romney, the former Massachusetts Governor.

American conservatism is what the party’s general position is based on, apposed to the contrasting more liberal position of the Democratic Party. The Republican Party’s position of American conservatism does not completely reject political ideology of liberalism as some fundamental principles of American conservatism is based on classical liberalism. For the most part, the conservatism of the Republican Party is based on its position against the modern liberalism of the Democratic Party. This modern liberalism of the Democratic Party is considered American liberalism of contemporary American political discourse.

The Republican Party holds a majority of seats in the United States House of Representatives and a minority of seats in the federal Senate of the 113th Congress which was elected in 2012. The Republican Party also currently holds the majority of governorships and the majority of state legislatures.

Add Comment Register

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *